Work Unit/ Play Unit


The box where he swivels
in his pod.
Where a peripatetic fingerdance
pauses, then it’s the scratch
or the scowl
or the totting up.
And the stares
at various pale walls,
out windows.
He wears a wire and talks.
The box
his natural habitat.
Nothing odd.

The tripod where he swivels
in a row.
Eyes dance with amber glasses.
Pauses. Then it’s the laugh ,
then the frown
then the trotting up.
And the stares
at various dark walls
at doors
at waiters.
He’s wired and talks
This box
his natural habitat.
Nothing odd.

17 thoughts on “Work Unit/ Play Unit

  1. The cubicle/office in pale hours versus the bar in dark hours … I love the swivel tripod and “Eyes dance with amber glasses.” This is an excellent piece. Bravo.

  2. I live in a box and I know it. It’s weirder than you paint it. I call it my magic box and it lets me talk to you and I don’t even know you. I have never seen you and yet you know me. You know how I think, you know how I write, you know what makes me cry, and after you read my poem today, you’ll know how odd my sense of humor is because I thought it was kind of funny. No alien world could be weirder than mine..living in a magic box. My computer.

  3. Since I understand the ether ate my comment, I thought I’d drop back and re-read and if poss, re-write – I really love this Brian – such simple contrasts but so profound, they kind of sneak up and smack you up along side of the head; well done

Leave a Reply

