Understand, That When I Weep


Understand, that when I weep
the tears that skim the surface come
from deep within and not won light,
but burn the soul before the skin.
Each glistening bud of paraffin
wells up and hauls along its wake
a fiery grief to carbonise
the soul and takes the nerve-ends out
to dehydrate the whole,
to shrivel me to husk or wraith
or would if were but only oil,
but also watering the way,
they ease the path for further tears
for me to add, for you to sum
and leave the years to calculate the toll.

7 thoughts on “Understand, That When I Weep

    • Thank you Jeanie… An example of the therapeutic nature of writing, when it forces you to articulate what you should intuitively know and understand of the emotional reality of others(and self).

      • My writing does exactly the same for me. I think that’s why I love it so much. It brings me closer to my truth and that in itself is inherently satisfying and fulfilling.

  1. Good morning Brian,
    Just answered your comment on my post. Please come back if you can spare the time.
    Your own poem needs greater attention than I can give it this minute. Will be back for that later.
    No need to publish this, so please wipe. Couldn’t find an email address for you.

  2. Looks like it came out with a corkscrew from within your soul, taking the boiling blood with it to overflow into hot tears. Dilating the mind’s eye to such an extent that the intensity becomes unbearable.

    I’m having a bit of trouble with

    and not won light,

    ?? , are not won light[ly]?

Leave a Reply

