Stilled Life


Any notion of progress
now
has rotted to despair,

and seeing you, cold,
in the usual chair,
I know why
wax fruit unsettles me.

The chair
where
you have posed for days,
not waiting
for a caller
or a breath,
not waiting…
just there.

Your musty house
has a guest,
a carcass come
to parody the good in you.
He wears your slippers
and sits with cold tea.
And I silently swear
your second death
may be fragile in me
but will be distant.
That last time
when you are thought of
or your name said.

10 thoughts on “Stilled Life

  1. This is haunting… but also real and very visual. I love
    “and seeing you, cold,
    in the usual chair,
    I know why
    wax fruit unsettles me.”

    That will stick with me, for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

