I’m putting the brakes on you, Death, tonight.


I’m putting the brakes on you, Death, tonight.
Bringing my mind to a skid.
(I picked up the pen)
Arrested it on paper
Reduced Death to a dot
.
Then freely forgot
how I am
punctuated by you
how I rush
to your drunk-fugued week-
end
helter-skelter
BELTINGALONGAT90ONTHEOUTSIDELANEOF
middle age

So

I have binned routine:
amn’t looking backwhere the line has been.
In the ignoring of you
and in the everdancing now,
I reject you,
full stop.

6 thoughts on “I’m putting the brakes on you, Death, tonight.

  1. Wow! Excellent. Not a word wasted. The language just right, the subject intense and I’ve never read Carpe Diem said more profoundly. Beat inspired (or more likely as a result of) or if not – this is an important poem. You should definitely get this published. Very very fine work.

Leave a Reply

