Dreambook


Dream book 1

In sunlit temple ruins
I see dali’s Gala,
old, remodelled,
silver hair knotted to a bun,
with unforgiving facework.

Sitting in the golden dust-
where she is has warmth. Sun.
She is playfully lifting her dress-
I get
repeated glimpses of grey-haired cunt.
And tanned flesh.

I am astonished at the freedom she is showing me
“I can do THIS, now”
She seems to say.

Smiling.

Dream book 2

In a dark, dilapidated, old tenement,
ill-lit, manky walls,
are two bodies, in rags.
I know they are Beckett and Joyce,
so maybe it’s Paris.

Joyce Is lying awkwardly in a wooden chair.
Board-like.
He is painfully thin, clad in rags,
scabbed, half-bearded,
his skin snot-green.

I go in, to lift him.
I pick him up,

I feel the rot in the air.
Moss on the floor.
I take him outside.
Lay him at the foot of an old lamppost.
Lighting the night.

Beckett is an irrelevance.

7 thoughts on “Dreambook

  1. Doesn’t it feel magical to have the inspiration and imagination of your dreams at your ego’s disposal? Doesn’t it make you wonder why so few of us take the magnificent gifts of our inner lives seriously? I love it! I’m looking forward to more dream book poetry in the new year and smiling at my ego’s self-indulgent fantasy that my book might have made some sort of contribution to it!

    • One of those occasions where fantasy IS reality, Jeanie. Your books have lead to some re-assessing of long-held assumptions about myself and my childhood, and, as I said to you before, they read like the words of a friend telling me long-forgotten but known truths. As for reading of dreams I had always read dreams in a simple, wish-fulfilment/fear kind of way. Now you open up the Jungian tool-kit for me and I begin to see them in the full kaleidoscope of mystery they hint at. A naive question for you… as you familiarise yourself with meanings of archetypes etc, do they appear more readily in your dreams? What I suppose I mean is, the more you learn, do your dreams become more Jungian in nature? (I know the answer is probably no, but I would like to hear your experience of this.)

      • An excellent, perceptive question; not naïve at all. Let me rephrase it: “As I learn to take my unconscious self seriously and pay closer attention to its symbolic messages, will I notice them more and understand them better? Will they become more meaningful to me?”

        There are two keys here: attention and meaning! Jung was all about paying attention to the unconscious and finding personal meaning in its messages. Your dreams will bring symbols that speak to what’s going on in you. His dreams brought symbols that were meaningful to him. The goal is for your dreams to serve the growth and healing of your own soul with all its archetypal energies and all the symbols that will help you recognize them.

        When you (your ego self) pays attention to the unconscious (by remembering your dreams, writing them down, doing creative work with them like writing poetry, etc.), you are establishing a dialogue with it, and it responds to you in turn by sending more images that are becoming meaningful—if those images apply to your current situation— and also by showing you different images it “wants” you to find meaning in because they will help you understand yourself better. In this way, your ego (conscious self) and unconscious self develop a shared language. This is the Jungian way: to find and follow your own inner guidance to your own soul’s realities and truths!

        Continuing this dialogue on a regular basis is actually a spiritual practice that brings more and more of your unconscious material out “into the light,” i.e., it brings understanding and enlightenment, eases your suffering, and makes you less separated from your self, more “whole.” This happens because dreams come in the interest in health and wholeness. This is what Jung discovered when he began to take his dreams seriously. I have discovered the same.

        So, do your dreams become more Jungian in nature? If being “Jungian in nature” means helping you understand and accept and find meaning in the light and dark, strengths and weakness of your own soul, (and bringing more health, healing and joy in the process), the answer is most assuredly, YES!

        Did I answer your question? I welcome more of you have them.

        Blessings on your continuing inner adventure!

        Jeanie

  2. Obviously, I mean, “if” not “of” you have them. By the way, as I reread this dialogue between us it occurs to me that it might make part of a good blog post. Would you have any objection to my posting it. If not, should I use your name and cite your website?

  3. One more comment: I realize that by the term, “Jungian in nature” you might have meant do your dreams change in direct proportion to your ego’s interest in and understanding of Jungian psychology. If that’s what you meant, my answer would be the same. Yes they do. Because everything you consciously learn, including Jungian psychology, is absorbed into your unconscious, and your unconscious will make symbolic references to it in your dreams when it applies to your current situation.

Leave a Reply

