I felt my life in velvet


I felt my life in velvet closing down

But fondly fell the shutters on my heart,

As darkness groaned the parting lovelight gone

It murmured in the moonless night unstarred.

And sat unsung in silence sovereign waiting,

To brood upon emotion gone amiss;

Closed, the cavern’s grown in the abating-

Its’ chambers echo to its own sad kiss.

Yet should your lips a whisper kind impart

Come carried on the wind of your breaths sighs

I’d lightened be by one stroke of your art

And opened in the greening of your eyes

For darkness falls on those who rest upon it

And falls to light when light doth cast her bonnet

2 thoughts on “I felt my life in velvet

Leave a Reply

